latest news

Congratulations - Victoria L. Eslinger is SCWLA's 2012 Jean Galloway Bissell Award Winner

Victoria L. Eslinger will be honored by SCWLA on October 4, 2012 at the Hippodrome in Charleston (360 Concord Street, Charleston, SC) from 6:00 p.m. to 7:30 p.m.  

Jean Galloway Bissell (1936-1990) was a trailblazer who paved the way for South Carolina women lawyers in multiple fields. She graduated Phi Beta Kappa from USC in 1956 and graduate magna cum laude, first in her University of South Carolina School of Law class in 1958, where she was also Associate Editor and Business Manager of the South Carolina Law Review. She started her career in private practice with the firm of Haynsworth, Perry. She taught trusts and estates at the University of South Carolina School of Law, became General Counsel of the South Carolina National Bank, and was promoted to Executive Vice President and Vice-Chairwomen of the SCN's Board. At that time, she was the highest-ranking female executive among the 100 largest bank holding companies in the United States. In 1984, she became the first female South Carolina lawyer in a federal judgeship when she was appointed to the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. In addition to the success she experienced in her remarkable career, Judge Bissell supported numerous civic and educational organizations.

Thank you to all of our Bissell Award Sponsors:

Platinum Sponsors: 

McNair Law Firm, P.A.

Nexsen Pruet, LLC

Gold Sponsors: 

Womble Carlyle Sandridge and Rice, LLP

Haynesworth Sinkler Boyd, P.A.

Silver Sponsors:

Willoughby & Hoefer, P.A.  

Bronze Sponsors:

Barton Law Firm, P.A.

Sarah Leverette

Turner, Padget, Graham & Laney, P.A.

Patron Sponsors:

Bluestein & Douglas, LLC

Cheryl H. Bullard


The Honorable Carmen T. Mullen


For more information about the Bissell Award Ceremony, please contact Angel Warren at [email protected]